Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

Bibliographic Citation:

Green, J. & Levithan, D. (2011). Will Grayson, Will Grayson. New York, NY: Speak. ISBN 978-0142418475.

(Image from Amazon.com)

Plot Summary:
Will Grayson, Will Grayson follows high school students in the Chicago area both named Will Grayson. The two find each other on their own but end up sharing a common, but very different love, of the same person, Tiny Cooper.

Critical Analysis:
Will Grayson, Will Grayson was an easy read (I read it in about 7 or 8 hours on a slow day at work), and it was a cute story, but it isn’t — brace yourself — in my Top 10 Best Books Ever category (see previous post for more information). I read it because I had just read Looking for Alaska and the whole world seems to be in love with John Green at the moment so I thought I’d give it a shot. I wasn’t disappointed but I’m not in love with it either. I checked it out from my local library but when I got home and actually read the synopsis I was disappointed. I thought to myself that I should’ve read that before I brought it home because I was sure I was going to hate it. Don’t get me wrong; I love a good musical as much as the next gal, but I couldn’t imagine reading about one. I’m glad I was wrong.

Maybe it is because I’m from Louisiana, and I’ve only ever taught in Texas but I cannot actually imagine a school funding a musical about LGBT relationships. Sadly, I doubt anything like this would happen at the high school where I teach now. They don’t even have a GSA and it’s 2014. Can you believe that?! Anyway, I’m glad that Tiny’s school did, I think our kiddos would all be better off if we showcased diversity a little bit more, but I just can’t wrap my head around the fact that it happened and this isn’t a book set in the future. If this is how things really are in Chicago schools, let me know and I will be sure to add it to my list of potential places to relocate to one day. So it might just be my frame of reference, but I found the book to be a little far fetched because of that.

The characters were simple and easy to relate to for the most part. Jane is pretty awesome, probably my favorite character in the story. I’m also very fond of both WG’s parents. I really enjoyed that this book is told in alternating voices. Since Green and Levithan are both the authors, each one writes as a different Will Grayson. I thought that was pretty cool although I’m not sure which author wrote which Will. The different voices was a welcomed change to my typical novel choices. Basically, if you want a book you can read quickly, you enjoy YA literature, and you aren’t one of those people offended by homosexuality, then you might want to check out this book. It’s pretty decent. You probably won’t be disappointed.

Save

Leave a Reply

